## The tetrahedrite group: Nomenclature and classification

## CRISTIAN BIAGIONI<sup>1,\*</sup>, LUKE L. GEORGE<sup>2</sup>, NIGEL J. COOK<sup>2</sup>, EMIL MAKOVICKY<sup>3</sup>, YVES MOËLO<sup>4</sup>, MARCO PASERO<sup>1</sup>, JIŘÍ SEJKORA<sup>5</sup>, CHRIS J. STANLEY<sup>6</sup>, MARK D. WELCH<sup>6</sup>, AND FERDINANDO BOSI<sup>7</sup>

<sup>1</sup>Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Università di Pisa, Via S. Maria 53, I-56126 Pisa, Italy

<sup>2</sup>School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5005, Australia
<sup>3</sup>Department of Geoscience and Natural Resources Management, University of Copenhagen, Østervoldgade 10, DK1350 Copenhagen, Denmark
<sup>4</sup>Institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel, UMR 6502, CNRS, Université de Nantes, 2 rue de la Houssinière, F-44322 Nantes Cedex 3, France
<sup>5</sup>Department of Mineralogy and Petrology, National Museum, Cirkusová 1740, 193-00 Prague 9, Czech Republic
<sup>6</sup>Department of Earth Sciences, Natural History Museum, London SW7 5BD, U.K.
<sup>7</sup>Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Sapienza Università di Roma, Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, I-00185 Roma, Italy

## ABSTRACT

The classification of the tetrahedrite group minerals in keeping with the current IMA-accepted nomenclature rules is discussed. Tetrahedrite isotypes are cubic, with space group symmetry  $I\overline{4}3m$ . The general structural formula of minerals belonging to this group can be written as  ${}^{M(2)}A_6{}^{M(1)}(B_4C_2){}^{\chi(3)}$  $D_4^{S(1)}Y_{12}^{S(2)}Z$ , where  $A = Cu^+$ ,  $Ag^+$ ,  $\Box$  (vacancy), and  $(Ag_6)^{4+}$  clusters;  $B = Cu^+$ , and  $Ag^+$ ;  $C = Zn^{2+}$ ,  $Fe^{2+}$ ,  $Hg^{2+}$ ,  $Cd^{2+}$ ,  $Mn^{2+}$ ,  $Cu^{2+}$ ,  $Cu^+$ , and  $Fe^{3+}$ ;  $D = Sb^{3+}$ ,  $As^{3+}$ ,  $Bi^{3+}$ , and  $Te^{4+}$ ;  $Y = S^{2-}$  and  $Se^{2-}$ ; and  $Z = Se^{2-}$ .  $S^{2-}$ ,  $Se^{2-}$ , and  $\Box$ . The occurrence of both  $Me^+$  and  $Me^{2+}$  cations at the M(1) site, in a 4:2 atomic ratio, is a case of valency-imposed double site-occupancy. Consequently, different combinations of B and C constituents should be regarded as separate mineral species. The tetrahedrite group is divided into five different series on the basis of the A, B, D, and Y constituents, i.e., the tetrahedrite, tennantite, freibergite, hakite, and giraudite series. The nature of the dominant C constituent (the so-called "charge-compensating constituent") is made explicit using a hyphenated suffix between parentheses. Rozhdestvenskavaite, arsenofreibergite, and goldfieldite could be the names of three other series. Eleven minerals belonging to the tetrahedrite group are considered as valid species: argentotennantite-(Zn), argentotetrahedrite-(Fe), kenoargentotetrahedrite-(Fe), giraudite-(Zn), goldfieldite, hakite-(Hg), rozhdestvenskayaite-(Zn), tennantite-(Fe), tennantite-(Zn), tetrahedrite-(Fe), and tetrahedrite-(Zn). Furthermore, annivite is formally discredited. Minerals corresponding to different end-member compositions should be approved as new mineral species by the IMA-CNMNC following the submission of regular proposals. The nomenclature and classification system of the tetrahedrite group, approved by the IMA-CNMNC, allows the full description of the chemical variability of the tetrahedrite minerals and it is able to convey important chemical information not only to mineralogists but also to ore geologists and industry professionals.

Keywords: Tetrahedrite group, sulfosalts, nomenclature, classification