Summary of the motions and key items discussed at the



for posting on the MSA website




Michael A. Carpenter, President
Douglas Rumble, III, Past President
Robert Hazen, Vice-president
James Blencoe, Treasurer
George E. Harlow, Secretary
Nancy Ross, Councilor
Peter Heaney, Councilor
Rebecca Lange, Councilor
Barb Dutrow, Councilor
Mickey Gunter, Councilor
David London, Councilor


J. Alex Speer, MSA Executive Director
David M. Jenkins, Past Secretary
Robert Dymek, Co-Editor, American Mineralogist
Lee Groat, Co-Editor, American Mineralogist
Jodi Rosso, Editor RiMG and MSA Monograph Series

Note: Motions and council action items are presented in italics; SoC = Sense of Council, S = Second.

The First meeting of the 2004 Council of the Mineralogical Society of America was held in the Sheraton Seattle Hotel, Seattle, Washington, November 1, 2003.




1. Call to Order

M. Carpenter called the meeting to order at 3:43 PM, Saturday, November 1, 2003, and introductions were deemed unnecessary as the attendees corresponded to those in the earlier 3rd Meeting of Council for 2003.

2. 2004 Budget

P. Heaney moved to approve the 2004 Budget included in the Treasurer’s report. S = M. Gunter. Motion passed unanimously.


3. Authorization for the Treasurer and the Administrator

B. Dutrow moved to authorize the MSA Treasurer to conduct the financial affairs of the Society and J. Alexander Speer as the Executive Director of the Society to write checks and make other forms of payment and transfers on the Society’s accounts as directed by the Treasurer and Council actions. S = N. Ross. Motion passed unanimously.


4. Acceptance of committee appointments for 2004 Council year:

M. Carpenter asked Council if there were any questions or concerns regarding the committee nominations and other appointed posts.

B. Dutrow moved to accept the suggested committee members and chair appointments and other appointed posts for the 2004 Council year contained in the report of the Committee on Committees made to the Third 2003 Council meeting and as amended by the Third 2003 Council meeting. S = R. Hazen. Motion passed unanimously.



5. Appointment of editors

N. Ross moved to appoint Lee A. Groat and Robert F. Dymek editors of the American Mineralogist, Jodi Rosso Editor of the Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry and Monograph series, and Andrea Koziol Editor of The Lattice. S = P. Heaney. Motion passed unanimously.


6. Authorization of mail and telephone ballots.

M. Gunter moved to authorize the use of mail, telephone and e-mail ballots whenever necessary and are allowed to conduct the affairs of the Society. S = N. Ross. Motion passed unanimously.


7. On the Future of MSA.

M. Carpenter introduced the outline for an agenda. First he itemized the important recent developments in the workings of the Society.

The consolidation of the publishing and business offices into the same facility.

The movement of the Societies economic portfolio to Wachovia

The creation of a Website

The creation of the Lecture series and its expansion outside of N. America.

The increase in membership over the last few years.

Carpenter then noted the recent decisions and issues facing the Society.

A discussion ensued on the recent developments, including concerns about the financial status of the Society. No actions were taken, and it was agreed that attention needed to be paid to finances while maintaining the vitality of the Society’s programs and endeavors.

Future meetings: The issue of future joint meetings was left open for future consideration.


8. Other business. None.

9. Adjournment

M. Gunter moved that the1st 2004 Council meeting be adjourned. S = D. London. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:50 PM.


Respectfully submitted,

George E. Harlow, MSA Secretary