Mineralogical Society of America, Founded December 30, 1919

2012 MSA Committees And Appointed Posts

(revised 12/08/2011)

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE  Michael F. Hochella Jr. (2012 MSA President), Chair
David L. Bish (2012 MSA Past-President)
John M. Hughes (2012 MSA Vice-President)
Darrell J. Henry (2011-2012 MSA Treasurer)
Andrea M. Koziol (2012-2013 MSA Secretary)

ROEBLING MEDAL COMMITTEE (Award for 2013)  Guy L. Hovis, Chair (2012) 
Ernst A. J. Burke (2010-2012)
Gordon E. Brown Jr. (2010-2012)
Bernard W. Evans (2011-2013)
Carol D. Frost (2011-2013)
Jay J. Ague (2012-2014)
John M. Hanchar (2012-2014)

DANA MEDAL COMMITTEE (Award for 2014)  Pamela C. Burnley, Chair (2012)
Mona-Liza C. Sirbescu (2010-2012)
Reid F. Cooper (2010-2012)
Gilberto Artioli (2011-2013)
William A. Bassett (2011-2013)
Glenn A. Waychunas (2012-2014)
David R. Cole (2012-2014)

MSA AWARD COMMITTEE (Award for 2013)  Sumit Chakraborty, (2012) Chair
Giancarlo Della Ventura (2010-2012)
James A. Tyburczy (2010-2012)
Mark S. Ghiorso (2011-2013)
Abby Kavner (2011-2013)
Stephen J. Mackwell (2012-2014)
Rona J. Donahoe (2012-2014)

DISTINGUISHED PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD COMMITTEE (Award for 2013)  John W. Valley, (2011-2014) Chair 
Peter Robinson (2009-2012)
Nancy J. McMillan (2009-2012)
David W. Mogk (2009-2012)
Jeffrey E. Post (2010-2013)
Peter J. Heaney (2011-2014)
Alan G. Whittington (2011-2014)

CRYSTALLOGRAPHY RESEARCH GRANT COMMITTEE (Grant for 2013)  Research Grant in Crystallography from the Edward H. Kraus Crystallographic Research Trust Fund  Kimberly T. Tait, Chair (2012)
Yongjae Lee (2010-2012)
Giacomo Diego Gatta (2011-2013)
Stephen J. Guggenheim (2012-2014)

MINERALOGY/PETROLOGY RESEARCH GRANT COMMITTEE (Grant for 2013)  MSA Grant for Student Research in Mineralogy and Petrology  Christine M. Clark, Chair (2012)
Larissa F. Dobrzhinetskaya (2010-2012)
Roberta Oberti (2011-2013)
James S. Beard (2012-2014)
Alan Bruce Thompson (2012-2014)

NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR FELLOWS I-Ming Chou (2009-2012), Chair 2012
John B. Parise (2010-2012)
Peter I Nabelek (2011-2013)
Reto Giere (2011-2013)
Wilson A. Crichton (2012-2014)
Kirsten P. Nicolaysen (2012-2014)

COMMITTEE ON MANAGEMENT   Michael F. Hochella Jr. (2012 MSA President), Chair
David L. Bish (2012 MSA Past-President)
John M. Hughes (2012 MSA Vice-President)
Darrell J. Henry (2011-2012 MSA Treasurer)
Andrea M. Koziol (2012-2013 MSA Secretary)

FINANCIAL ADVISORY AND AUDIT COMMITTEE  Mark van Baalen (2009-2011), Chair (2010-) 
John T. Cheney (2011-2013)
David R. Snoeyenbos (2011-2013)
Howard W. Day (2009-2014)
David C. Palmer (2012-2014)
Darrell J. Henry (2011-2012 MSA Treasurer)
Michael F. Hochella Jr. (2012 MSA President, Management Committee Chair)
John M. Hughes (2012 MSA Vice-President)
Andrea M. Koziol (2012-2013 MSA Secretary)

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE Penelope L. King (2010), Chair
Sumit Chakraborty (2010-)
Rona J. Donahoe (2010-)
Jane A. Gilotti (2010-)
Peggy A. O'Day (2010-)

Sorena S. Sorensen (2010- ), student recruitment

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES John M. Hughes (2012 MSA Vice-President), Chair
Harry Y. McSween Jr. (2012 MSA Vice-Presidental candidate)
David J. Vaughan (2012 MSA Vice-Presidental candidate)
Andrea M. Koziol (2012-2013 MSA Secretary)
Cameron Davidson (2012)
Sarah C. Penniston-Dorland (2012)

NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR OFFICERS (for 2013 election and terms start 2014) Wendy A. Bohrson, Chair (2012)
Christian Chopin (2010-2012)
Philip E. Brown (2010-2012)
Barb Dutrow (2011-2013)
Craig E. Manning (2011-2013)
Roland Hellmann (2012-2014)
Shiv K. Sharma (2012-2014)

ad hoc LONG-RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE, aka FUTURES COMMITTEE Jeffrey E. Post, Chair (2011-2012)
George H. Beall
Barb Dutrow
Joshua M. Feinberg
Richard John Harrison
Charles T. Prewitt
Paul B. Tomascak
E. Bruce Watson
Bernard J. Wood

MSA LECTURE PROGRAM COMMITTEE Jane A. Gilotti (2010-2012), Chair 2011-2
Charles E. Lesher (2010-2012)
Jade Star Lackey (2011-2013)
Monika-Koch Mueller (2011-2013)
Mark A. Williamson (2012-2014)
Lindsay J. McHenry (2012-2014)
Steven R. Dunn (Lecture Program Administrator) (2010-)

COMMITTEE ON SHORT COURSES  Daniel E. Harlov (2010-2013), Chair (2012)
Lee A. Groat (2009-2012), past-Chair (2012)
Joanne Elizabeth Stubbs (2011-2014)
Matthew J. Kohn (2012-2015)
Jeffrey Vervoort (Geochemical Society Editor for Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry) (2012-)
Jodi Rosso (Series Editor, Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry) (2003-)

BENEFACTORS COMMITTEE  John M. Hughes (2010-) Chair, Corporate Donations & Capital Campaign
Peter J. Heaney (2009-) Chair, Membership Giving

OUTREACH COMMITTEE  Robert T. Downs, co-Chair overseeing Mineral Databases (1999-)

Vickie Harder, co-Chair overseeing K-12 Outreach (2002-)

AMERICAN MINERALOGIST  Editor: Jennifer A. Thomson (2009-)
Editor: Martin Kunz (2010-
Editor: Ian Swainson (2010-)
Managing Editor: Rachel A. Russell (1996- )
Technical Editor for Crystal Structures: Ronald C. Peterson (2009-)
New Mineral Names Editor: Paula C. Piilonen (2005-)
Book Review Editor: John C. Schumacher
Board of Associate Editors

HANDBOOK OF MINERALOGY Editor: Kenneth W. Bladh (2010- )
ELEMENTS  MSA News Editor: Andrea Koziol (2005- )
Advisory Board for MSA: George E. Harlow
Advisory Board for MSA: Roberta Oberti
Executive Committee for MSA: Barb L. Dutrow (2009- )

GEOSCIENCEWORLD  Board of Directors for MSA: Douglas Rumble III (2009-2011)
Advisory Council for MSA: Rachel Russell (2012-2014)

LIAISONS TO OTHER SOCIETIES AND ORGANIZATIONS American Crystallographic Association (ACA) - Nancy L. Ross (2012-)
American Geological Institute (AGI) - J. Alex Speer (1999-)
AGU Mineral Physics Committee - Ronald E. Cohen (2012-2012)
Clay Minerals Society (CMS) - David L. Bish (1988-)
European Mineralogical Union (EMU) - Charles A. Geiger (2000-)
Friends of Mineralogy (FM) - Julian C. Gray (2007-)
Gemological Institute of America (GIA) - George Rossman (1992-)
Geological Society of America's Mineralogy, Petrology, Voclanology, and Geochemistry Division (GSA-MPVG) - Wendy A. Bohrson (2010-
Geochemical Society (GS) - Michael F. Hochella Jr. (2011-)
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) Advisory Council - Rachel A. Russell (2012-)
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) Board of Directors - Douglas Rumble III (2009-2014)
International Mineralogical Association (IMA) - George E. Harlow (2007-)
International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) - Jeffrey E. Post (1995-)
Society of Mineral Museum Professionals (SMMP) - George E. Harlow (1994-)


MSA Representative to GSA JTPC - Philip E. Brown (2002-)
MSA Delegate to GSA JTPC - James S. Beard (2002-)
MSA Representative to Goldschmidt Conference - Penelope L. King (2010-)
MSA-AGU Meetings Laison - Abby Kavner (2005-)
MSA Representative for Fall AGU - Abby Kavner (2006-)
MSA Representative to AGU Mineral Physics - Heather C. Watson (2010-)
MSA Delegate to the CMS - David L. Bish (1998-)
MSA Representative to Friends of Mineralogy - Julian C. Gray (2007-)
MSA Representative to the IMA - George E. Harlow (2007-)

MSA REPRESENTATIVES on IMA COMMISSIONS and Working Groups Applied Mineralogy - H. Catherine W. Skinner (1992)
Astromineralogy - Frans J.M. Rietmeijer (2004)
Gem Materials - James E. Shigley (1996)
Inclusions in Minerals - Robert J. Bodnar (2004)
Mineral Equilibria - Darrell Kirk Nordstrom (2004)
Mineral Growth and Interface Processes - John Rakovan (2003)
Museums - Carl A. Francis (2008)
New Minerals, Mineral Names, and Classification of Minerals - Anthony R. Kampf (1992)
Ore Mineralogy - Mark D. Barton (2000)
Organic Minerals - Patricia A. Maurice (2001)
Physics of Minerals - Nancy L. Ross (2003)

MSA SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS (no formal structure or terms)  Mineral Structures - Jeffrey E. Post (2000-)
Mineral Surfaces and Interfaces - Udo Becker (2007-)
Pegmatites - David London (1992-)
Planetary Materials - Brad Jolliff (1996-)

Copyright © 1997 - 2022 Mineralogical Society of America. All rights reserved