Mineralogical Society of America, Founded December 30, 1919

Fellowship in MSA

revised 12/31/2018

Description of Fellowship      MSA Fellows      Submitting Nominations for MSA Fellowship

Description of Fellowship

Members who have contributed significantly to the advancement of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, or allied sciences and whose scientific contribution utilized mineralogical studies or data, may be designated as Fellows upon proper accreditation by the Committee on Nomination for Fellows and election by the Council. Recipients of the Roebling Medal and Mineralogical Society of America Award automatically become Fellows.

Criteria for selection to fellowship (adopted by the MSA Council in 1984, modified 2013):

Nominators should document the candidate's contributions to advancing the field of mineralogy, and these may include research, publications, teaching, mentoring and advising, professional service through editorships, reviews, or committee work, development of textbooks and other educational materials, etc.

The number of fellows elected each year cannot exceed 0.5% of MSA membership. Nominations for fellowship can be made by any MSA Fellow or Member following the instructions in the section for submitting nominations.

MSA Fellows

Fellows newly elected in 2018 are Paul Asimow, Carl Agee, Bradley Jolliff, Oliver Tschauner, Janice Bishop, Hongping He, Lindsay Keller, Michael Jercinovic, Penny King, Daniel Neuville, Jun Tsuchiya, and Gray Bebout.

The list of MSA Fellows.

Submitting Nominations for MSA Fellowship

Nominations for Fellowsip in MSA requires a Sponsor, who is a Member or Fellow of the Society, to submit the following cover page and indicated information:


Cover Page for Nomination for Fellowship

Date: _____________________________________

Nominee: _____________________________________

Sponsor: _____________________________________

Co-Sponsor 1*: ________________________________

Co-Sponsor 2*: ________________________________

(1) personal data on the nominee that includes:

  1. Name in Full
  2. Address
  3. Present Position or Occupation
  4. Academic Training (institution, degree, year, major field)
  5. Professional Record (including special honors)
  6. Membership in other Scientific Organizations
  7. List of Publications - do not list abstracts, book reviews, or papers which have not yet been accepted for publication.

(2) the sponsor's nomination statement that includes:

  1. an indication of the length and nature of your acquaintance with the candidate
  2. the nominee’s research contributions to the field to date
  3. the nominee’s meritorious educational contributions to the field
  4. your evaluation of his/her scientific ability or impact on the field over the course of his/her career
  5. your name, affiliation, address, and contact information.

(3) write a brief statement (75-100 words) summarizing the key features of the nomination, which will be the basis of the congratulatory letter and a press release for their home institution.

*(4) Co-sponsors are no longer required for a fellowship nomination, but can be included if arranged for by the sponsor. Letters from co-sponsors can help a nomination, especially of younger or lesser known individuals. There should be no more than two co-sponsors and their statements should include the same information requested from the sponsor described in (2). Co-sponsors need not be MSA members or fellows.

Nominations can be carried over to following years if the nomination package is updated by the sponsor. Any nomination not renewed after 2 years will be not considered further.

The nomination package must be submitted to the Chair of the Committee for Nominating Fellows of the Society by June 1. The committee asks that the nominator compile into a single electronic file the nomination, all letters of support, and supplementary materials before submitting the nomination package to the Committee Chair. This single electronic nomination package makes it easier and less expensive for the committee members, who are increasingly international, to do their work.

The Chair of the 2019 MSA Nominating Committee for Fellows:

Adrian J. Brearley, Chair
University of New Mexico
Dept Earth & Planetary Sciences
MSC 03-2040
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque NM 87131-1126 USA
Tel: +1 (505) 277-4163
Fax: +1 (505) 277-8843
E-mail: brearley@unm.edu
Copyright © 1997 - 2019 Mineralogical Society of America. All rights reserved. Email any comments, suggestions or problems with site to webmaster@minsocam.org
or write Mineralogical Society of America, 3635 Concorde Pkwy Ste 500, Chantilly, VA 20151-1110 United States Tel +1 (703) 652-9950 Fax +1 (703) 652-9951