NOTICES

Clay Minerals Society, Fifteenth Annual Meeting

The Clay Minerals Society will hold its Fifteenth Annual Meeting October 8–11, 1978, at Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana. There will be three days of papers and a one-day field trip. R. K. Leininger is the Technical Program Chairman. For additional information write Haydn H. Murray, Chairman, Department of Geology, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana 47401.

Nominations for Awards, Honors, and Elected Officers of MSA

Members of the Society are urged to take an active part in making nominations for the awards of the Society. Nominations with adequate documentation should be sent to the Secretary, Mineralogical Society of America, 1909 K Street, N.W., Washington, D. C. 20006, no later than June 1 for transmittal to the appropriate Committee. The nominator must be a member of the Society. The various awards are as follows:

1. The Roebling Medal is the highest award of the Mineralogical Society of America for scientific eminence as represented primarily by scientific publication of outstanding original research in mineralogy. The science of mineralogy is defined broadly for purposes of the Roebling Award, and a candidate need not qualify

as a mineralogist; rather his published research should be related to the mineralogical sciences and should make some outstanding contribution to them. Service to mineralogy, teaching and administrative accomplishment are not to be considered as a primary merit for the award. The award is not restricted to Americans. Nationality, personality, age of the candidate, or place of employment shall not be considered.

- 2. The Mineralogical Society of America Award is given in recognition of an outstanding contribution or series of contributions within the fields of interest to the Society. The work for which the award is given must have been published in a single or series of papers prior to the month in which the candidate's 35th birthday falls. Candidates are limited to persons who shall not have reached the age of 37 before January 1 of the year in which the award is decided upon (1978). The Award shall be made without regard to nationality, personality, or place of employment. Membership in the Mineralogical Society of America or publication in *The American Mineralogist* is not prerequisite.
- 3. **Fellowship** nominations are invited and forms may be obtained from the Secretary. Three members of the Society must sponsor each nominee.
- 4. Suggestions for nominations for all offices of the Society are welcome; documentation need not be as extensive as for the awards.

Larry W. Finger, Secretary