## PROCEEDINGS

## REPORT OF THE SECRETARY FOR 1966

## To the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America

The ballots for the ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND FELLOWS were counted on November 1, 1966 by a Teller's Committee composed of Gilbert Corwin, Peter B. Leavens, and the Secretary. One thousand seventy five ballots were cast in the election of officers and 216 in the election of fellows. The officers elected to serve in 1967 are:

President: Felix Chayes Vice President: James B. Thompson Secretary: Ralph J. Holmes Treasurer: Marjorie Hooker Councilors: Robert G. Coleman Donald L. Graf

According to the provisions of the Constitution, the following have been elected to Fellowship:

Bennett Frank Buie	Davis Mortimer Lapham
Frantisek Cech	Donald E. Lee
Georges Deicha	Robert Meyrowitz
Wallace Gary Ernst	Adusumilli Bhaskara Rao
Robert Maynard Gates	Jack A. Redden
Glauco Gottardi	Charles Irvin Rich
Richard Leroy Hay	Harry Joseph Rose, Jr.
Everett Dale Jackson	Malcolm Ross
Albert Laws Kidwell	William Neil Sharp

David Robert Wones

The balloting on the proposed change in Section I of Article III of the Constitution [Amer. Mineral 51, 570 (1966)] was as follows:

In favor of the proposed change 777 Opposed to the proposed change 271

According to Article V, Section 3 of the Constitution an amendment shall go into effect when favored by two-thirds of the membership voting on it. The proposed change did pass and will go into effect immediately.

Membership in the society in 1966 is shown in the following table. Figures for the preceding two years are given in comparison:

## November 1, 1966

	1964	1965	1966
Honorary Fellows.	3	3	2
Fellows	488	478	460
Members	1,776	1,880	1,996
	2,267	2,361	2,458

During 1966 the society lost through death 7 fellows:

Jewell Jeannette Glass	Hugh Alexander Ford
Elwood S. Moore	Albert Williams Postel
Percy Dudgeon Quensel	Arthur Lindo Patterson
James Dabney Burfoot, Jr.	

Respectfully submitted, GEORGE SWITZER, Secretary