### A CORRECTED UNIT CELL FOR BERYLLONITE

## JOHN P. WEHRENBERG, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois.

The space group for beryllonite, as earlier proposed by Gossner and Besslein (1), is incorrect due to the fact that their technique (the Laue method) was limited to the recording of only the lower level reflections. By use of the Weissenberg and the Buerger precession techniques, it was found that symmetry changes occurred in the higher orders. Unit cell dimensions were taken with a 14 cm. diameter Hayes powder camera.

The correct space group is  $P2_1/n$ ; the number of molecules per unit cell=12. The unit cell dimensions are  $a_0=8.16$ ,  $b_0=7.79$ ,  $c_0=14.08$ ;  $\beta=90^\circ$ . This gives an axial ratio of a:b:c=1.0475:1:1.8074. The x-ray density, p, was calculated to be 2.831.

This work was done in the x-ray laboratories of the Chemistry Department of the University of Illinois. I wish to thank Dr. George L. Clark and Mr. Walter Thatcher for the use of equipment and for their advice.

#### Reference

 GOSSNER, B., AND BESSLEIN, J., Über Kristallographie zwischen Silikaten und Phosphaten; Centralblatt für Mineralogie, Geologie, und Paläntologie; Jahrgang 1934, part A, p. 144 (1934).

Louis H. Ahrens, Assistant Professor of Geochemistry in the Department of Geology and Geophysics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has resigned to accept a Readership in Mineralogy at Oxford University commencing in January 1954. Professor Ahrens is widely known for his spectrochemical research on geological age and will continue similar work in England.

Herbert E. Hawkes, recently Chief of the Geochemical Prospecting Section of the U. S. Geological Survey, Denver Federal Center, has joined the staff of the Department of Geology and Geophysics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology as Lecturer in Geochemistry. Dr. Hawkes will conduct one course in Geochemical Prospecting and will carry on geochemical research at the Institute.

Gordon J. F. MacDonald, Junior Fellow at Harvard University, will assume the duties of an Assistant Professor of Geology in the Department of Geology and Geophysics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in July 1954.

The Geological Society of America published the following article in the October, 1953, issue of its Bulletin: "Bibliography and Index of Literature on Uranium and Thorium and Radioactive Occurrences in the United States. Part 2: California, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming," by Margaret Cooper of the Division of Raw Materials, U. S. Atomic Energy Commission. Since this 69 page bibliography may prove helpful to both geologists and laymen interested in uranium prospecting, the Society has prepared

#### NOTES AND NEWS

reprints for public sale at 25 cents per copy. Remittance must accompany orders, which should be sent to:

The Geological Society of America, 419 West 117 Street, New York 27, New York.

A new bibliography series has been compiled by the Atomic Energy Commission Information Branch. The first part of this series consists of 219 selected references which appear to be of interest to industries in the metallurgical and ceramics fields. It is one of a series of bibliographies covering non-classified reports on research and development work sponsored by the A.E.C. Copies may be obtained from the Industrial Information Branch, Atomic Energy Commission, Washington 25, D. C.

The Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia has given the 1953 Hayden Memorial Geological Award, a gold medal, to Norman L. Bowen, petrologist and geophysicist of the Carnegie Institution of Washington. Dr. Bowen was cited as "a leader in the physicochemical research in petrology, introducing systematic quantitative, experimental work on problems of origins of minerals and rocks."

At the 66th annual meeting of The Geological Society of America and affiliated Societies held at Toronto, Canada, Nov. 9–11, 1953, the following medals and awards were presented:

Esper S. Larsen, Jr., Penrose Medalist.

J. F. Schairer, Arthur L. Day Medalist.

William F. Foshag, Roebling Medalist.

L. H. Ahrens, recipient of The Mineralogical Society of America Award.

Fritiof Fryxell, recipient of the Neil Miner Award.

# The Editor, The American Mineralogist Dear Sir:

The rounding rule which appears as a footnote on page 787 of my recent paper "In defense of the second decimal" (Vol. 38, pp. 784–793, 1953) is not the one used in the numerical work leading to Tables 1 and 2, and I must apologize to readers who may have attempted to check the calculations. The correct rule is:

"5's have been rounded to the nearest even number."

Somewhere in the proofing and printing process the word "even" was dropped from the footnote.

FELIX CHAYES

398