life members of the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy. It was also announced that the Peacock Memorial Prize for 1952 had been awarded to R. J. Traill, Geological Sciences, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, for his paper entitled "Synthesis and X-Ray Study of Uranium Sulphate Minerals." Mr. F. Ebbutt, geologist for Howe Sound Explorations Co., spoke on "Spanish Exploration and Mining in Mexico." Slides were shown.

The Peacock Memorial Prize of One Hundred Dollars Cash is offered by the Club for the best scientific paper on pure or applied mineralogy. A full announcement of the conditions governing the award appeared in the March-April 1953 issue of *The American Mineralogist*. The papers must reach the secretary, Walker Mineralogical Club, 100 Queen's Park, Toronto, not later than June 30, 1953.

The Council of the Walker Mineralogical Club wishes to acknowledge the courtesy of the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America in again making possible the publication of a Canadian number of *The American Mineralogist*.

MRS. HELEN BUSH, Secretary-Treasurer

## ANNUAL MEETING

The thirty-fourth annual meeting of the mineralogical Society of America will be held in Toronto, Canada, Monday through Wednesday, November 9–11, 1953. A series of field trips is being planned for Thursday, Friday and Saturday following the meeting.

Abstracts of papers to be presented at the annual meeting must be received by the Secretary on or before *July 15*, 1953. Abstract blanks may be obtained from the Secretary.

## NOMINATIONS OF OFFICERS FOR 1954

President: Sterling B. Hendricks, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, Maryland

Vice-President: Harry H. Hess, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey

Secretary: C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Treasurer: Earl Ingerson, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C. Editor: Walter F. Hunt: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan Councilor (1954-57): Felix Chayes, Geophysical Laboratory, Washington, D. C.

The above Fellows have been nominated by the Council as officers of the Mineralogical Society of America for 1954. They will be voted on at the election in October 1953.

C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Secretary