WALKER MINERALOGICAL CLUB*

OFFICERS 1952

Honorary President, A. L. Parsons; President, J. A. MacDonald; Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. Helen Bush; Editor, L. G. Berry; Councillors, C. L. Coleman, R. Ford, D. Hogarth, V. B. Meen, G. G. Waite.

ABSTRACT OF PROCEEDINGS, 1952

January 31, 1952. The Walker Mineralogical Club met in the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy. Mr. W. A. Tovell, lecturer in the Geological Sciences, University of Toronto, described the new plan for the Geological galleries. Dr. V. B. Meen, Director of the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy, outlined briefly the arrangment of the cases in the gallery of Mineralogy. Minerals donated to the club by Mr. C. B. Gerber, Arlington, Va. were distributed to members. Refreshments were served.

February 28, 1952. The financial statement for the year 1951 was presented by the Secretary-Treasurer—Balance on hand in Ordinary Account—\$409.50; Balance on hand in Prize Fund Account—\$105.17; Bonds for Prize Fund Account held in safekeeping—\$900. Dr. G. B. Langford, Head of the Department of Geological Sciences, University of Toronto, addressed the Club on the subject "Mineral Economics," and illustrated his talk with slides.

March 26, 1952. Dr. G. Switzer, Associate Curator, Department of Geology, United States Natural Museum, Washington, D. C., spoke to the club on "Collecting Aquamarines in the Colorado Rockies." Slides illustrated his address.

May 1, 1952. Dr. V. B. Meen was chairman for a programme entitled "The Hows and Whys of Mineral Collecting." G. G. Waite as an "oldtimer" and Miss Ruth Jenking as a "newcomer" gave brief talks; V. B. Meen spoke on "Mineral Occurrences and Associations"; G. Steel discussed collecting operations and equipment; F. Ebbutt dwelt on preparation, labelling, packing and display of specimens; C. C. Stevenson dealt with trading and where to buy minerals; V. B. Meen completed the programme with a brief history of the club.

May 17, 1952. Members gathered at the Forks of the Credit, Ontario to hunt orange celestite.

October 10-13, 1952. The Sixth Annual Field Trip was held at Bancroft, Ontario. The following localities were visited—McDonald Quarry, Woodcox Quarry, Bird Creek, Goulding Keene Nepheline Quarry, York River Quarries, Princess Quarry, Fission Property and Clark's Fluorspar Property near Wilberforce, Graphite Mine at Harcourt, Emily Mine and Marble Quarry at Madoc. A square dance was held Saturday night while slides of former field trips were shown on Sunday night.

November 13, 1952. The Club met at the Lighting Institute where Mr. J. A. Bateman, Manager of the Lighting Institute, Canadian General Electric Company, addressed the members on "Light and Ultra-Violet Radiation." Demonstrations were held. A gift of fluorescent minerals, presented to the Club of E. J. Tolamini, Kearny, N. J., was distributed. Refreshments were served courtesy of the Lighting Institute.

December 11, 1952. Elections of officers for 1953 were held. The President announced that F. Ebbutt, M. H. Frohberg, G. Steel and G. Waite had been honoured by being made

* Founded in 1938 and named in honour of the late Professor T. L. Walker (1867–1942), then Professor Emeritus of Mineralogy and Petrography in the University of Toronto and Director of the Royal Ontario Museum of Mineralogy. The by-laws of the Club were published in *Am. Mineral.*, 34, 469, 1949.

life members of the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy. It was also announced that the Peacock Memorial Prize for 1952 had been awarded to R. J. Traill, Geological Sciences, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, for his paper entitled "Synthesis and X-Ray Study of Uranium Sulphate Minerals." Mr. F. Ebbutt, geologist for Howe Sound Explorations Co., spoke on "Spanish Exploration and Mining in Mexico." Slides were shown.

The Peacock Memorial Prize of One Hundred Dollars Cash is offered by the Club for the best scientific paper on pure or applied mineralogy. A full announcement of the conditions governing the award appeared in the March-April 1953 issue of *The American Mineralogist*. The papers must reach the secretary, Walker Mineralogical Club, 100 Queen's Park, Toronto, not later than June 30, 1953.

The Council of the Walker Mineralogical Club wishes to acknowledge the courtesy of the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America in again making possible the publication of a Canadian number of *The American Mineralogist*.

MRS. HELEN BUSH, Secretary-Treasurer

ANNUAL MEETING

The thirty-fourth annual meeting of the mineralogical Society of America will be held in Toronto, Canada, Monday through Wednesday, November 9–11, 1953. A series of field trips is being planned for Thursday, Friday and Saturday following the meeting.

Abstracts of papers to be presented at the annual meeting must be received by the Secretary on or before *July 15*, 1953. Abstract blanks may be obtained from the Secretary.

NOMINATIONS OF OFFICERS FOR 1954

President: Sterling B. Hendricks, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, Maryland

Vice-President: Harry H. Hess, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey

Secretary: C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Treasurer: Earl Ingerson, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C. Editor: Walter F. Hunt: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan Councilor (1954-57): Felix Chayes, Geophysical Laboratory, Washington, D. C.

The above Fellows have been nominated by the Council as officers of the Mineralogical Society of America for 1954. They will be voted on at the election in October 1953.

C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Secretary