Mineralogical Society of America, Founded December 30, 1919

MSA Award

revised 03/28/2022

Description of the Award     Recipients     Submitting a Nomination

Description of the Award

MSA Award Certificate image

The Mineralogical Society of America Award is intended to recognize outstanding published contributions to the science of mineralogy by relatively young individuals or individuals near the beginning of their professional careers. The work must have been accomplished either [1] before reaching the age of 35 or [2] within 7 years of the awarding of the terminal degree. If the former, the candidate must be 36 years old or younger on January 1 of the year the award is decided. If the latter, the award must be decided prior to December 31 of the seventh year past the terminal degree. These time limits are exceptionally extended by 18 months for the 2023 award, in recognition of delays to research caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. This extended time limit can be further extended for up to two years based on circumstances which have interrupted the nominee's career; such an extension should be discussed with and approved by the Committee Chair. Mineralogy is broadly defined and the candidate need not qualify as a mineralogist. Rather, her/his published record should be related to the mineralogical sciences and should make some outstanding contribution to them. Nationality or place of employment shall not be considered; however, current members of MSA Council are not eligible to be considered for the award. 

The recipient of the MSA Award receives a certificate, is made a Life Fellow of the Society, and gives a scientific presentation which is published in American Mineralogist.

Recipients of the MSA Award

With Links to the Presentation (P) and Acceptance (A) Articles

1951 Orville F. Tuttle P, A
1952 Frederick H. Stewart P, A
1953 L.H. Ahrens 
1954 Hatten S. Yoder, Jr. 
1955 Julian R. Goldsmith 
1956 George C. Kennedy 
1957 Rustum Roy 
1958 Charles E. Weaver 
1959 Harry F.W. Taylor 
1960 Donald L. Graf 
1961 Joseph V. Smith 
1962 Douglas S. Coombs 
1963 Nobuo Morimoto 
1964 William S. Fyfe
1965 Peter J. Wyllie
1966 David B. Stewart
1967 Alfred E. Ringwood
1968 Barclay Kamb
1969 W. Gary Ernst
1970 Bernard W. Evans
1971 Robert A. Berner
1972 Arthur L. Boettcher
1973 Paul Brian Moore
1974 James J. Papike
1975 Roger G. Burns 
1976 Friedrich A. Seifert
1977 J.G. Liou
1978 J. Stephen Huebner
1979 Ho-Kwang Mao
1980 Susan Werner Kieffer
1981 Alexandra Navrotsky
1982 Robert M. Hazen 
1983 David R. Veblen 
1984 Bernard J. Wood
1985 John M. Ferry
1986 Antonio C. Lasaga P, A
1987 Donald J. DePaolo P, A
1988 Raymond Jeanloz P, A
1989 Michael A. Carpenter P, A
1990 Russell J. Hemley P, A
1991 Mark D. Barton P, A
1992 Jonathan Stebbins P, A
1993 Lukas Baumgartner P, A
1994 Ronald E. Cohen P, A
1995 Zachary S. Sharp P, A
1996 Donald B. Dingwell P, A
1997 Jillian F. Banfield P, A
1998 James M. Brenan P, A
1999 Yingwei Fei P, A
2000 Quentin Williams P, A
2001 Peter C. Burns P, A
2002 John M. Eiler P, A
2003 Guillaume Fiquet P, A
2004 Kevin M. Rosso P, A
2005 Tiziana Boffa-Ballaran P, A
2006 Daniel J. Frost P, A
2007 Richard John Harrison P, A
2008 James Badro P, A
2009 Thomas Patrick Trainor P, A
2010 Benjamin Gilbert P, A
2011 Motohiko Murakami P, A
2012 Karim Benzerara P, A
2013 Wendy Li-Wen Mao P, A
2014 Fang-Zhen Teng P, A
2015 Nicholas J. Tosca P, A
2016 Anat Shahar P, A
2017 Dustin Trail P, A
2018 Laura Nielsen Lammers
2019 Olivier Namur
2020 Jin Liu
2021 Chenguang Sun
2022 Benjamin Tutolo
2023 Shaunna Morrison
2024 Denis Fougerouse

Submitting Nominations for the MSA Award


Copyright © 1997 - 2024 Mineralogical Society of America. All rights reserved. Email any comments, suggestions or problems with site to webmaster@minsocam.org
or write Mineralogical Society of America, 3635 Concorde Pkwy Ste 500, Chantilly, VA 20151-1110 United States Tel +1 (703) 652-9950 Fax +1 (703) 652-9951